Géza HERMANN

Géza Hermann creates artworks where he explores both the real and spiritual spaces of the canvas. Indeed, his creative process, strongly inspired by the alchemical tradition, Tai Chi Chuan and oriental art, connects the alchemist’s work with the artist’s practice. Distilled beauty derives from work on oneself.

Hermann, while detailing his practice, refers to alchemy as a psychological science: “The present work examines through various materials, processes and observations, reactions in my personal laboratory. The artist’s role is analogous to this concept – for he is acting as a transformer and transmitter of the potential of the primitive matter, which, when impressed with forms, comes into existence in the work of art.”

Even though nature is at the heart of the artist’s works, it cannot be considered as “still lives”. Indeed, even if nature acts as a subject (the Floral meditations serie, 2004, amongst others) or as a material (Landscaping), questioning the universe and our own nature is part of Geza’s practice. Having mastered lots of techniques, Hermann’s corpus includes drawings, paintings, sculptures and land art. Keen on using luminescent pigments, he creates artworks that reveal themselves differently in daylight while unveiling their universe with black lights. His art is an experience lived by the spectator and inspired by the artist’s experience. Hermann’s artworks lie between figuration and abstraction. The forms are evasive, curbed, open, uncluttered and could even be considered calligraphic.

Géza Hermann was born in Hungary in 1949. At the age of 7 years old, he witnessed Budapest’s uprising against the severe politics of the URSS. In 1956, his family and him fled Hungary for Canada where he developed his passion for art. When he turned 16, he began to study with the Russian painter Valentine Firsoff Shebaeff. The Universal Exhibition of 1967 encouraged Herman to travel to Europe where he spent a few years in France, experiencing the bohemian life at Montmartre. During those years, he travelled to Germany, Britain, Holland and even Australia. Back in Canada in 1969, strongly influenced by Van Gogh, Kandinsky and Klee, Hermann develops his art.

Since 1973, he studies Tai Chi Chuan with Tam Cheuk Ying. In 1986, the artist completed his Bachelor in Fine Arts at Concordia University and worked and studied with Guido Molinari, Yves Gaucher, John Ivor Smith and Paul Neagu. The next year, he completed his teaching degree at McGill University and then, started his career as an art teacher at the Protestant School Board of Greater Montreal while working on his art. In 2000, he decided to devote himself entirely to his artistic practice. In 1987, he founded The Alternative Landscaping Company where he links landscaping and land art. He specializes in the creation of sculpted and zen gardens which he received prizes for. He also worked, in 1989, with Ken Nakajima, creator of the Japanese garden at Montréal Botanical Garden.

The artist presented several exhibitions both in Canada and Hungary. He also participated in In Situ, an on tour exhibition travelling since 2009 and which was well received in Gatineau, Montréal, Szentendre (Hungary), St-John and Hamilton (2014).

Wax on wax off I, 2019

Wax on wax off I, 2019

Pigments Luminescents, 40,6 x 50,8 cm

Peonea window I, 2016

Peonea window I, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 76,2 x 55,8 cm

Laurentian canticles V, 2019

Laurentian canticles V, 2019

Pigments luminescents, 35,5 x 27,9 cm

Laurentian canticles IV, 2019

Laurentian canticles IV, 2019

Pigments luminescents, 35,5 x 27,9 cm

Laurentian canticles III, 2019

Laurentian canticles III, 2019

Pigments luminescents, 35,5 x 27,9 cm

Laurentian canticles II, 2019

Laurentian canticles II, 2019

Pigments luminescents, 50,8 x 40,6 cm

Laurentian canticles I, 2019

Laurentian canticles I, 2019

Pigments luminescents, 50,8 x 40,6 cm

Paenonia II, 2016

Paenonia II, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 76,2 x 55,8 cm

Paenonia I, 2016

Paenonia I, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 55,8 x 76,2 cm

Charlevoix III, 2016

Charlevoix III, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 76,2 x 55,8 cm

Charlevoix II, 2016

Charlevoix II, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 76,2 x 55,8 cm

Charlevoix I, 2016

Charlevoix I, 2016

Pigments luminescents, 76,2 x 55,8 cm

Géza HERMANN

Géza Hermann conçoit des œuvres où il explore les espaces réel et spirituel de la toile. En effet, son processus créatif, fortement inspiré de la tradition alchimique, du Tai Chi et de l’art oriental, met en relation le travail de l’alchimiste et celui de l’artiste. La beauté est distillée et résulte d’un travail sur soi.

L’artiste explique sa démarche en ces termes : « L’alchimie est une science psychologique. Le travail présenté dans cette exposition est l’examen des réactions qui surviennent dans mon laboratoire intérieur, résultats de processus psychologiques, de l’alliance de matériaux subtils et de dessins d’observations. » Ainsi, le rôle de l’artiste est analogue au concept alchimique, puisqu’il agit comme transformateur et transmetteur du potentiel de la matière primitive.

Si l’on ne peut parler de « natures mortes », la nature reste au cœur de l’œuvre de l’artiste. En effet, qu’elle fasse office de sujet (Méditations florales, 2004, entre autres) ou de matériau (aménagement de jardins), un questionnement sur l’univers et la nature de l’être sillonne sa pratique. Maîtrisant plusieurs techniques, le corpus d’Hermann comprend des dessins, des peintures, des sculptures et du land art. Féru de l’usage des pigments fluorescents, il crée des œuvres qui se révèlent différemment à la lumière du jour et dévoilent leur univers dans la lumière noire. Son art est une expérience vécue par le spectateur et issu du vécu de l’artiste. Les œuvres d’Hermann se situent entre figuration et abstraction. Les formes sont évasives, courbes, ouvertes et épurées voire, calligraphiques.

Géza Hermann est né en Hongrie, en 1949. À l’âge de 7 ans, il est témoin de l’insurrection de Budapest contre les sévères politiques de l’URSS. Il consacre ses longues heures d’isolement à la pratique du dessin; c’est à ce moment qu’il décide de s‘orienter vers l’art. En 1956, Hermann quitte la Hongrie pour se réfugier au Canada. Après un bref passage à Halifax, c’est à Montréal que s’installe la famille; l’artiste y vit et travaille toujours aujourd’hui. À 16 ans, il devient l’apprenti du peintre russe Valentine Firsoff Shebaeff. L’Exposition universelle de 1967 incitera Hermann à voyager. Direction l’Europe, il séjournera quelques années en France, expérimentant la vie de bohème à Montmartre. Il voyagera au cours de cette même année en Allemagne, en Australie, en Grande Bretagne et en Hollande. À son retour, en 1969, fort des influences de Van Gogh, Kandinsky et Klee, Hermann développe sa pratique artistique.

Depuis 1973, il étudie le Tai Chi Chuan avec Tam Cheuk Ying. En 1986, l’artiste est diplômé en beaux-arts à l’Université Concordia. Il travaille alors avec Guido Molinari, Yves Gaucher, John Ivor Smith et Paul Neagu. L’année suivante, il complète sa formation à l’Université McGill en enseignement. Géza Hermann entame alors de 1993 à 2000 une carrière comme professeur d’arts plastiques au Protestant School Board of Greater Montréal en parallèle à sa production. En 2000, il décide de se consacrer entièrement à sa création artistique. Géza Hermann a également une pratique alliant l’aménagement paysager et le land art. Il fonde en 1987 The Alternative Landscaping Company. Il se spécialise dans la confection de jardins sculptés et zen et est récipiendaire de plusieurs prix. Il a d’ailleurs travaillé, en 1989 avec Ken Nakajima, concepteur du jardin japonais du Jardin Botanique de Montréal.

L’artiste compte à son actif plusieurs expositions, tant au Canada qu’en Hongrie. L’exposition In Situ est d’ailleurs itinérante depuis 2009 ayant fait ses marques à Gatineau, Montréal, Szentendre (Hongrie),
Saint-John et Hamilton (2014).

Experimentum Lumia 1, 2014

Experimentum Lumia 1, 2014

Aquarelle, pigments phosphorescents et huile sur papier, 56,5 x 76 cm

Experimentum Lumia 3, 2014

Experimentum Lumia 3, 2014

Huile et pigments phosphorescents sur papier, 56,5 x 76 cm

Separatio #1, 2013

Separatio #1, 2013

Graphite et pastel sur papier, 30,5 x 23 cm

Separatio #2, 2013

Separatio #2, 2013

Graphite et pastel sur papier, 30,5 x 23 cm

Meditatione unius 1, 2013

Meditatione unius 1, 2013

Huile et peinture luminescente sur toile, 30,5 x 40,5 cm

Meditatione unius 2, 2013

Meditatione unius 2, 2013

Huile et peinture luminescente sur toile, 30,5 x 40,5 cm

Lab-oratorium #1, 2013

Lab-oratorium #1, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #2, 2013

Lab-oratorium #2, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #3, 2013

Lab-oratorium #3, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #4, 2013

Lab-oratorium #4, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #6, 2013

Lab-oratorium #6, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #7, 2013

Lab-oratorium #7, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #8, 2013

Lab-oratorium #8, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #9, 2013

Lab-oratorium #9, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Lab-oratorium #10, 2013

Lab-oratorium #10, 2013

Huile sur papier, 35,5 x 28 cm

Alambique, 2013

Alambique, 2013

Huile et pigments phosphorescents sur papier, 56,5 x 76 cm

Mindscape#1, 2012

Mindscape#1, 2012

Fusain et prismacolor sur papier, 53 x 76 cm