Margit HIDEG

Chronicling the relationship between humans and nature, Margit Hideg’s introspective struggle is inspired by nature’s amazing capacity to renew itself; specifically, her work explores the diverse parallels between nature’s resilience when confronted by natural disasters and that of humans when faced with disease. Color, ink, paper and fibres are weaved across her other worldly creations and give shape to vibrant landscapes, revealing a dazzling setting that harvests her own inner vitality. Her work is construction, self-discovery, transformation, and transmission.

Both her relationship with nature and her inquiry into the meaning of life adds a psychological mystique to her work. Hideg creates her own cotton paper, which not only adds texture to her work, but also harmonizes the bright colors found in her pieces. She considers the process of manufacturing the paper as a new language; a way to stabilize the vibrations of the form. In fact, Hideg considers her own body as an instrument. The abstract forms she creates pour out from both her respiratory cycles and the motions of her waving hands.  This state she describes as being both conscious and unconscious.

Originally from Transylvania, Romania, Margit Hideg holds, since 1982, of a BFA (Hon) from the University of fine arts in Cluj – Napoca, as well as a teaching certificate. In 1989, she immigrated to the Canada for, then, to continue her training in graphic arts at the Center for Creative Studies in Detroit, (United States). In 2001, the artist made a six month residency at the New Media Lab of the Canadian Film Center in Toronto. Her interactive installation ShoeVox has been very well received by the media arts community. In 2008, she decided to devote herself entirely to her art practice. In 2014, she obtains the best project of Culture and Education Award issued by the Conseil régional de l’Outaouais at the Gala of Culturiades culture.

By 2015, she will carry on with a project – Lines in Nature – in collaboration with students and teachers from the School of Arts of Ottawa, to support the talent of young artists in contemporary art.

She worked in various workshops in the fields of management and graphic design. She also collaborated with InSitu, a travelling exhibition Gatineau, Saint-John and Hamilton. She also led several projects as a teacher at the École d’art of Ottawa and Heritage in Gatineau College, where she teaches since 2010. In 2013, she presided over the creation of The Artist’s Book Now. This group exhibition, in collaboration with students and professional artists, held in the FAB (Centre of arts, culture and heritage of Chelsea, Québec) in 2014.

International artist, she regularly participates in residences of artists in Romania and Hungary. His works were exhibited in Europe, the United States and the Canada.  Margit Hideg lives and works in Ottawa, in Cantley, Québec.

Marqueur de vie, 2014

Marqueur de vie, 2014

Techniques mixtes, 23 x 23 cm

Voyage 166, 2013

Voyage 166, 2013

Techniques mixtes, 91,5 x 91,5 cm

Voyage 510, 2013

Voyage 510, 2013

Techniques mixtes, 61 x 76 cm

Margit HIDEG

L’essentiel du travail de Margit Hideg représente une quête intérieure créant une sorte de documentaire sur la relation entre la nature et l’être humain. Impressionnée et inspirée par la capacité de la nature à se renouveler, l’artiste explore les nombreux parallèles entre la résilience de la nature, face aux désastres naturels et celle des humains face à la maladie. Couleur, encre, papier et fibres matérialisent ses créations spirituelles et donnent à voir des paysages colorés, révélant une nature éclatante où se traduisent ses propres énergies intérieures. Son œuvre est un acte de construction et de découverte de soi, de transformation et de transmission.

Son rapport à la nature et son questionnement sur le sens de la vie donnent un caractère psychologique et mystique à ses œuvres. Hideg fabrique son propre papier-coton qui non seulement donne du relief à ses œuvres, mais vient également harmoniser les couleurs vives utilisées dans ses toiles. Elle considère le processus de fabrication du papier comme un nouveau langage, une façon de fixer les vibrations du corps. En effet, l’artiste considère son corps comme un instrument. Les formes abstraites qu’elle crée suivent les cycles respiratoires et les mouvements en vague de ses mains, dans un état qu’elle décrit comme étant à la fois conscient et inconscient.

Originaire de Transylvanie, en Roumanie, Margit Hideg est titulaire, depuis 1982, d’un BFA (Hon) de l’Université des Beaux-arts de Cluj-Napoca, ainsi que d’un certificat en enseignement. En 1989, elle a immigré au Canada pour ensuite poursuivre sa formation en arts graphiques au Center of Creative Studies de Détroit, (États-Unis). En 2001, l’artiste a effectué une résidence de six mois au New Media Lab du Canadian Film Center à Toronto. Son installation interactive ShoeVox a été très bien reçue par le milieu des arts médiatiques. En 2008, elle décide de se consacrer entièrement à sa pratique artistique. En 2014, elle se mérite le prix du meilleur projet de Culture et Éducation émis par le Conseil régional de la culture de l’Outaouais au Gala des Culturiades.

En 2015, elle poursuivra avec un projet – Lines in Nature – en collaboration avec des étudiants et des enseignants de l’École d’art d’Ottawa, visant à soutenir le talent de jeunes artistes en art contemporain.

Elle a travaillé dans différents ateliers dans les domaines de la gestion et du design graphique. Elle a également collaboré à InSitu, une exposition itinérante entre Gatineau, Saint-John et Hamilton. Elle a aussi dirigé plusieurs projets en tant que professeur à l’École d’art d’Ottawa et au collège Héritage de Gatineau où elle enseigne depuis 2010. En 2013, elle a présidé à la création de The Artist’s Book Now. Cette exposition de groupe, en collaboration avec des étudiants et des artistes professionnels, s’est tenue à la FAB (Centre des arts, de la culture et du patrimoine de Chelsea au Québec) en 2014.

Artiste internationale, elle participe régulièrement à des résidences d’artistes en Roumanie et en Hongrie. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Margit Hideg vit et travaille en Outaouais, à Cantley, au Québec.

Marqueur de vie, 2014

Marqueur de vie, 2014

Techniques mixtes, 23 x 23 cm

Voyage 166, 2013

Voyage 166, 2013

Techniques mixtes, 91,5 x 91,5 cm

Voyage 510, 2013

Voyage 510, 2013

Techniques mixtes, 61 x 76 cm