Mariette ROUSSEAU-VERMETTE R.C.A. (1926-2006)

A textile arts pioneer and a celebrated painter and weaver, Mariette Rousseau-Vermette is renowned for her massive tapestries of vibrant colors that act as both murals (bas-reliefs) and sculptures. Playing with the magic of volume and texture, she created magnificent, luminous tapestries charged with vertical and geometric forms. Her sculptural works incorporate unconventional materials such as optic fibers and fur held together by weft yarns. In an unceasing attempt to renew the poetic meaning of her work by incorporating methodical and avant-garde techniques, Rousseau-Vermette’s artwork transcends the common notions of traditional tapestry. In particular, the integration of optic fiber into her art pieces helped define her as an innovative and self-directed artist.

Rousseau-Vermette is also recognized for her many public artworks in Québec, across Canada, Japan, Europe and in the United States. Her stage curtains adorn such illustrious venues as the Maisonneuve Theatre at the Place des Arts, in Montréal, the National Arts Centre, in Ottawa, and the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, in Washington. Her keen aesthetic and the rich, chromatic shades of each composition reflect the remarkable mastery and preciseness of Rousseau-Vermette. The tapestries, each genuine and unique art pieces, transcend the traditional boundaries of decorative art and design. Hovering between a traditional art form and a radical proposition, Mariette Rousseau-Vermette`s art is timeless – contemporary art at its best and carries with it a social dimension through the accessibility of her works in public places. More than 600 tapestries were signed by Mariette Rousseau-Vermette throughout her career.

Born in 1926, in Trois-Pistoles, Québec, Rousseau-Vermette was married to ceramist Claude Vermette (1930-2006). She received her training at both the École des beaux-arts du Québec (1944-1948) and at the Oakland College of Art Sand Crafts, in California (1948-1949). She travelled extensively to Europe and Asia between 1952 and1968, allowing her to broaden and deepen her understanding of different tapestry techniques. From 1957 to 2002, she was honored several times in Québec and abroad, winning numerous awards throughout her career. Rousseau-Vermette was invited, on many occasions, to participate as: jury member, curator, member of various boards of directors and lecturer. She has exhibited in Canada, in the United States, in several European countries, and in Japan. Her tapestries are held in many major public and private collections, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in New York, the Chicago Art Institute, the Museum of Modern Art, in Kyoto, the National Gallery of Canada, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, and the Contemporary Art Museum of Montréal. She was a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Rouge pourpre #557, 1987

laine, 218 x 114 cm

Mariette ROUSSEAU-VERMETTE R.C.A. (1926-2006)

Artiste peintre-lissier de réputation internationale, Mariette Rousseau-Vermette est une pionnière de l’art du textile. Ses tapisseries monumentales aux couleurs vibrantes sont à la fois des bas-reliefs et des sculptures. Jouant avec la magie des volumes et des reliefs, l’artiste a réalisé de grandes tapisseries colorées en favorisant la verticalité et les compositions géométriques. Elle intégrait dans ses œuvres sculpturales des matériaux non conventionnels, comme la fibre optique et la fourrure, soutenus par des fils et des trames de laine. Elle renouvelait continuellement le sens poétique de son travail en mariant les techniques et les aspirations de l’heure, transcendant ainsi la tapisserie traditionnelle. L’intégration de la fibre optique en particulier l’a amenée à des définitions artistiques nouvelles et très autonomes.

Mariette Rousseau-Vermette a également été reconnue pour la réalisation de nombreuses œuvres d’art public, tant au Québec qu’ailleurs au Canada, au Japon, en Europe et aux États-Unis. Ses rideaux de scène ornent des lieux aussi réputés que le théâtre Maisonneuve de la Place des arts, à Montréal, le Centre national des arts, à Ottawa, et le John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, à Washington. Par la justesse de leur composition et la richesse de leurs nuances chromatiques, ces œuvres témoignent avec brio de la remarquable maîtrise de l’artiste. Ses tapisseries, véritables œuvres d’art en tant que telles, transcendent les habituelles frontières des arts décoratifs ou du design, oscillant toujours entre forme d’art traditionnel et proposition radicale. L’art de Mariette Rousseau-Vermette est résolument contemporain et intemporel et porte en lui une dimension sociale grâce à l’accessibilité de ses œuvres dans les lieux publics. Plus de 600 tapisseries ont été signées par Mariette Rousseau-Vermette tout au long de sa carrière

Née à Trois-Pistoles (Québec, Canada) Mariette-Rousseau Vermette (1926-2006), épouse du céramiste Claude Vermette (1930-2006), a suivit une formation à l’École des beaux-arts du Québec (1944-1948) ainsi qu’au Oakland Collège of Arts and Crafts en Californie (1948-1949). Ses nombreux voyages entre 1952 et 1968, en Europe et en Asie, lui ont permis d’approfondir ses études sur les nouvelles techniques de la tapisserie. Au cours de sa carrière, entre 1957 et 2002, elle remporte plusieurs prix et distinctions en tant qu’artiste reconnue au Québec ainsi qu’internationalement. Impliquée à titre de membre de jurys, commissaire d’exposition, membre de conseils d’administration, ainsi que dans l’enseignement, Mariette Rousseau-Vermette a exposé ses œuvres au Canada et aux États-Unis, dans plusieurs pays européens et au Japon. Ses tapisseries font partie de nombreuses grandes collections publiques et privées, entre autres : Metropolitan Museum de New York, Chicago Art Institute, Musée d’art moderne de Kyoto, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Elle était Membre de l’Académie Royale des Arts du Canada et Officier de l’Ordre du Canada (RCA).

Mariette-Rousseau-Vermette - Rouge pourpre #557 - laine- 218 x 114 cm

Rouge pourpre #557, 1987

laine, 218 x 114 cm