Refaella SHIR

The engraving technique is strongly linked to the artist’s artistic approach which sustains, in particular, dialogues between creation and destruction, control and disorder. The artist explains: “The images I insert into the metal plate are gradually destroyed by the engraving process, which leads to new and surprising forms and thus give place to an independent articulation regarding its direction and its meaning.”

The artist perceives her creative process as a dialogue with the arts community, through which order and disorder, control and chaos occur. She expresses her emotions and ideas arising from her immigration from Israel to Canada. Her pieces reflect the memory of her native country, Israel, the land where the artist was born and grew up. Her landscapes are organized according to her impressions and memories, as if they had been drawn with eyes closed. Dark and intriguing landscapes, composed of architectures or vegetation are also part of Refaella Shir’s work.

Delicate and structured, her compositions recall an environment that the artist had to rub once. An impressive library in the parental home, which has been split after her parents’ death, houses crammed, miniatures showing a family where members look as if disconnected, these images represent a reality that seems safe, protective, but is in fact temporary and fragile. The artist questions the concept of belonging. In her work, intense and poetic, tender and violent, she reuses the same concept, in order to endlessly fragment it and rebuild it.

Born in Israel, Refaella Shir has first studied at Bezalel Academy of Art of Jerusalem and then in the United States, in 1992, at the Mitchell School of Fine Arts of Baltimore. She has exhibited in Israel, Canada and Europe. In 2009, she has illustrated an anthology of poems called Song of Time Passing from the author Isaac Shalev, distributed by the publishing house Am-Oved, Tel-Aviv, Israel.

Sans titre, 2/20, 2005

Sans titre, 2/20, 2005

Eau forte, 33 x 30 cm

Moment of grace, 2011

Moment of grace, 2011

Gravure et pastel, 30 x 22 cm

Family 8 and 9, 2007

Family 8 and 9, 2007

Pointe sèche, monotype, 18 x 18 cm

Window, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 60,8 x 29,8 cm

Exercice in Perspective, 2005,  (Variation)

Exercice in Perspective, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 30,5 x 27,7 cm

Exercice in Perspective, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 22 x 30 cm

Exercice in Perspective, 2005

Eau forte 2/15 , 30,5 x 27,7 cm

Sans titre, 2003

Sans titre, 2003

eau forte, 30 x 44,5 cm

With closed eyes, Jerusalem, 2003

With closed eyes, Jerusalem, 2003

eau forte, 26 x 33 cm

Domino, 2003

Domino, 2003

eau forte, 38 x 46 cm

Wind, 3/20, 2003

Wind, 3/20, 2003

Eau forte, 30 x 20,5 cm

Sans titre, 1997

eau forte 5|10,20 x 17 cm

Refaella SHIR

La technique de la gravure est intrinsèquement liée à la démarche de Refaella Shir qui entretient, notamment, les dialogues entre création et destruction, contrôle et désordre. Comme l’explique l’artiste: «Les images que j’incruste dans la plaque de métal sont progressivement détruites, selon le processus de gravure, et prennent de nouvelles et surprenantes formes qui comportent une articulation indépendante quant à la direction de l’œuvre et à sa signification.»

L’artiste perçoit son processus de création comme un dialogue avec le milieu artistique, à travers lequel ordre et désordre, contrôle et chaos se manifestent. Elle exprime ses émotions et ses idées qui découlent de son expérience d’immigration d’Israël vers le Canada. Ses gravures, reflètent la mémoire de sa contrée natale, Israël, une terre où l’artiste est née et a grandi. Comme s’ils avaient été dessinés avec les yeux fermés, ses paysages s’articulent selon ses impressions, ses souvenirs.

Des paysages obscurs et intrigants, composés d’architectures ou de végétation, sont aussi visibles dans l’œuvre de Refaella Shir. Délicates et structurées, ses compositions rappellent un environnement que l’artiste a dû côtoyer jadis. Une imposante bibliothèque dans la maison parentale, décomposée après le décès de ses parents, les maisons entassées, les miniatures montrant une famille où les membres semblent déconnectés; toutes ces images représentent une réalité qui semble sécuritaire, protectrice, mais qui n’est en fait que temporaire et fragile.

L’artiste scrute le concept d’appartenance. Dans ses œuvres, à la fois intenses et poétiques, tendres et violentes, elle reprend ce concept pour le morceler et le reconstruire à répétition.

Née en Israël, Refaella Shir a étudié au Bezalel Academy of Art de Jerusalem et, par la suite, aux États-Unis, en 1992, à la Mitchell School of Fine Arts de Baltimore. Elle a exposé en Israël, au Canada et en Europe. En 2009, elle a illustré une anthologie de poésies, “Song of Time Passing” de l’auteur Isaac Shalev, publiée par la maison d’édition Am-Oved, Tel-Aviv, Israël.

Sans titre, 2/20, 2005

Sans titre, 2/20, 2005

Eau forte, 33 x 30 cm

Moment of grace, 2011

Moment of grace, 2011

Gravure et pastel, 30 x 22 cm

Family, 8 et 9, 2007

Family, 8 et 9, 2007

Pointe sèche, monotype, 18 x 18 cm

window

Window, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 60,8 x 29,8 cm

Exercice in Perspective, 2005,  (Variation)

Exercice in Perspective, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 30,5 x 27,7 cm

rouge

Exercice in Perspective, 2005, (Variation)

Eau forte, 22 x 30 cm

exercicenoir

Exercice in Perspective, 2005

Eau forte 2/15 , 30,5 x 27,7 cm

Sans titre, 2003

Sans titre, 2003

eau forte, 30 x 44,5 cm

With closed eyes, Jerusalem, 2003

With closed eyes, Jerusalem, 2003

eau forte, 26 x 33 cm

Domino, 2003

Domino, 2003

eau forte, 38 x 46 cm

Wind, 3/20, 2003

Wind, 3/20, 2003

Eau forte, 30 x 20,5 cm

tree

Sans titre, 1997

eau forte 5|10,20 x 17 cm