Montserrat DURAN MUNTADAS

Since 2016, Montserrat Duran Muntadas combines her two favorite materials in her artworks, which seem to be incompatible at first glance: fiber and glass. Her interest in fiber comes from her childhood: her grandparents worked in the fiber industry. As for glass, Duran Muntadas has specialized herself in the techniques of its moulding, after being conquered by this special, contrasted material, offering parallels with the paradoxical character of the human being.

The sculptures and installations of Duran Muntadas oscillate between a vibrant and colourful aesthetic, in the image of her country of origin, Spain, and the silent sobriety of her new homeland, Canada. She puts in contrast multiple textures, shimmering colors, and profound themes.

“The imagination of Montserrat Duran Muntadas is abundant. Far from being childish, her recent artworks refer to biology, as well as the physical reality of femininity: multiplication of bacteria, references to the digestive and reproductive systems. Under a festive appearance, drama looms: diseases appear, filiation is impossible. This duality confers a great depth of signification to the artworks. In what seems almost like animated sculptures, the artist combines materials and techniques, borrowing from animal and vegetal lifeforms, and even human organs, but transformed by their idiosyncrasy. Glass is blown or worked with the blowtorch and fiber is embroidered numerically or screen printed: the materials are interwoven, narrowly melded, as though it were their natural form. Their combination generates a differentiation of textures. Fascinating, these textures arouse our desire to touch them and experience their sensation: smoothness, fluffiness, softness, roughness.” Pascale Beaudet, Vie des Arts no 258, 2020 (translated from French by Galerie Bernard).

Montserrat Duran Muntadas was born in 1984 at Terrassa, Spain, and now lives and works in Montreal since 2012. She completed a bachelor’s in fine arts at the Universitat de Barcelona, Spain (2010), and graduated from the Centro Nacional del Vidrio à la Real Fabrica de Cristales de La Granja, Spain (2007). She participated in over 30 collective exhibitions internationally, notably at La Guilde, Montreal (2017-2018-2019-2020), the Vitrine sur l’art of Montreal (2019), the Matéria Centre, Quebec (2018), the SOFA Sculpture Objects Functional Art and Design of Chicago (2016), as well as the Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec, Ville Saint-Laurent (2015). Her sculptural artworks have also been presented at the exhibition center of Mont-Laurier (2020), at the Art Center of La Sarre (2019), the Jacqueline de Repentigny Library, Verdun, the Exhibition Center of Amos (2018), as well as the Galerie Espace Verre, Montreal, and the Maison de la Culture Rivière-des-Prairies (2015). In 2021, she will present her work at the Lethbridge Center exhibition, Ville Saint-Laurent, and at the Art Center Jacques-et-Michel-Auger, Victoriaville. She realized her first public artwork (1%) in 2019 (Elementary school for the project 2950 Jarry East), Montreal. Duran Muntadas has won the François-Houdé prize in 2019 and the Award for Glass of the Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery, Waterloo, Ont. in 2017. She will have an artist residency at the prestigious Pilchuck Glass School Stanwood, Washington, from October 6 to November 22 2020. In addition, she received many grants from the Canada Council for the Arts (2016), the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (2016-2017-2018-2019), the SODEC (2015-2016-2019) and the ForCGal foundation (2017).

Ovoïde 29, 2020

Ovoïde 29, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Ovoïde 52, 2020

Ovoïde 52, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Ovoïde 51, 2020

Ovoïde 51, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Nature morte, 2019

Nature morte, 2019

Verre soufflé et tissu, 125 x 30 x 25 cm

Biovoïdes (saumon), 2020

Biovoïdes (saumon), 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 60 x 45 x 9 cm

Dissection rigoureuse de Fallope, 2019

Dissection rigoureuse de Fallope, 2019

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 115 x 50 x 30 cm

Montserrat DURAN MUNTADAS

Dans les œuvres de Montserrat Duran Muntadas, réalisées depuis 2016, l’artiste réunit ses deux matériaux de prédilection, qui semblent incompatibles à première vue : le textile et le verre. Le textile provient de l’univers de son enfance : ses grands-parents travaillaient dans le textile. Quant au verre, Duran Muntadas s’est spécialisée dans les techniques artisanales de son façonnage, après avoir été conquise par cette matière présentant des contrastes à l’image du caractère paradoxal de l’être humain.

Les sculptures et installations de Duran Muntadas oscillent entre un langage artistique vibrant et coloré, à l’image de son pays d’origine, l’Espagne, et la sobriété silencieuse de son pays d’accueil, le Canada. Elle met en contraste des textures multiples, des couleurs chatoyantes et des thématiques aux résonances profondes.

« L’imaginaire de Montserrat Duran Muntadas est foisonnant. Loin d’être enfantines, ses œuvres récentes font référence à la biologie, ainsi qu’à la réalité physique de la féminité : multiplication des bactéries, référence aux systèmes digestif et reproductif. Sous une apparence festive, le drame couve : les maladies appariassent, la filiation est impossible. Cette dualité procure aux œuvres une grande profondeur de significations. Elle combine les matériaux et les techniques dans des œuvres quasi animées, empruntant à des formes de vie animales, végétales ou à des organes humains, mais qui sont transformés par son idiosyncrasie. Le verre est soufflé ou travaillé au chalumeau et le tissu est brodé numériquement ou sérigraphié : les matériaux sont imbriqués, étroitement amalgamés, comme si telle était leur nature. Leur combinaison provoque une différenciation des textures. Fascinantes, celles-ci suscitent l’envie de les toucher et d’éprouver les sensations qui leur sont associées : lisse, pelucheux, doux, inégal ou strié. » – Pascale Beaudet, Vie des Arts no 258, 2020.

Montserrat Duran Muntadas, née en 1984 à Terrassa, Espagne, vit et travaille à Montréal depuis 2012. Elle a complété un baccalauréat aux beaux-arts à l’Universitat de Barcelona, Espagne (2010) et elle est aussi diplômée du Centro Nacional del Vidrio à la Real Fabrica de Cristales de La Granja, Espagne, depuis 2007. Elle a participé à plus de 30 expositions collectives nationales et internationales, dont à La Guilde, Montréal (2017-2018-2019-2020), à l’exposition Vitrine sur l’art de Montréal (2019), au Centre Matéria à Québec (2018), à la SOFA Sculpture Objects Functional Art and Design de Chicago (2016), ainsi qu’au Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec de Ville Saint-Laurent (2015). Ses oeuvres sculpturales ont été exposées au Centre d’exposition de Mont-Laurier (2020), au Centre d’Art de La Sarre (2019), à la Bibliothèque Jacqueline De Repentigny à Verdun et au Centre d’exposition d’Amos (2018), ainsi qu’à la Galerie Espace Verre à Montréal et à la Maison de la Culture de Rivière-des-Prairies (2015). En 2021, elle exposera notamment au Centre d’exposition Lethbridge de Ville Saint-Laurent ainsi qu’au Centre d’art Jacques-et-Michel-Auger à Victoriaville. Elle a réalisé sa première œuvre d’art publique (1%) en 2019 (École primaire pour le projet 2950 Jarry Est), Montréal. Duran Muntadas a remporté les prix François-Houdé en 2019 et le Award for Glass de la Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery, Waterloo, Ont. en 2017. Elle sera en résidence d’artistes à la prestigieuse Pilchuck Glass School Stanwood, Washington, du 6 octobre au 22 novembre 2020. De plus, le Conseil des Arts du Canada (2016), le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (2016-2017-2018-2019), la SODEC (2015-2016-2019) et la Fondation ForCGal (2017) lui ont octroyée plusieurs bourses.

Ovoïde 29, 2020

Ovoïde 29, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Ovoïde 52, 2020

Ovoïde 52, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Ovoïde 51, 2020

Ovoïde 51, 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 25 x 15 x 12 cm

Nature morte, 2019

Nature morte, 2019

Verre soufflé et tissu, 125 x 30 x 25 cm

Biovoïdes (saumon), 2020

Biovoïdes (saumon), 2020

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 60 x 45 x 9 cm

Dissection rigoureuse de Fallope, 2019

Dissection rigoureuse de Fallope, 2019

Verre au chalumeau, verre soufflé et tissu, 115 x 50 x 30 cm