Press release | For immediate diffusion

Galerie Bernard is pleased to present, from November 25th to December 20th, the exhibition MÉMOIRE ET DÉSIRS by the artist Steven Orner.

For the past 20 years, Orner has been exploring the generic and stereotypical aspects of the social imagination of North American suburbs. Loyal to his signature, the American-born artist presents us with characters emerging straight out of autofictional universes. They populate phantasmagorical suburbs that may appear both familiar and unknown, even surreal. His works recreate different contexts imbued with fiction, narration, desires and memories reanimated by his drawing and painting, in a style typical of the advertising posters in the 50s and 60s.

For this exhibition, Orner presents colorful works whose final rendering may seem like an aesthetic similar to collages of images extracted from various advertising documents and popular culture. Demonstrating a great mastery of painting and drawing, this seductive trompe-l’oeil certainly invites us to get closer to them and discover countless details and a rich composition, testifying a playful and critical spirit.

Orner explores the utopian and dystopian imagination of his childhood suburb; spaces of life filled with promises of a better future, or worrying places of homogenization and social isolation. Regardless of our point of view, the nostalgic and socio-historical spirit of these places is evoked with force and sensitivity, offering a new and eccentric look at our environments. The artist thus paints a humorous portrait of a chaotic world that brings back our memory, our desires.

Steven Orner was born in the United States, in Pennsylvania, and has lived in Montréal since 1998. He obtained a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the Maryland Institute College of Art and a Master’s degree in painting and printmaking from the renowned Yale University School of Art, United States. Orner has had many exhibitions, both individual and collective, in various institutions such as the Galerie d’Art d’Outremont (2020), the Gesù (2012-13), the Mont-Saint-Hilaire Museum of Fine Arts (2010), as well as abroad (United States, Paris, Berlin). A laureate of the Québec Arts and Letters Council grants in 2008 and the Canada Council for the Arts grants in 2009 and 2012, his works are part of public and private collections in Montréal and New York. He has also received numerous awards, including the prestigious Schoelkoptf Travelling Fellowship Prize at Yale University. This will be his third solo exhibition at Galerie Bernard.

CLICK HERE to view the video for the exhibition “MÉMOIRE ET DÉSIRS”

CLIQUEZ ICI/CLICK HERE (52 downloads) to download the visual pamphlet for the exhibition.

Communiqué de presse | Pour diffusion immédiate

La Galerie Bernard a le plaisir de présenter, du 25 novembre au 20 décembre, l’exposition MÉMOIRE ET DÉSIRS de l’artiste Steven Orner.

Orner poursuit, depuis maintenant 20 ans, son exploration des aspects génériques et stéréotypés de l’imaginaire social issu des suburbs (banlieues) nord-américaines. Fidèle à sa signature, l’artiste d’origine américaine nous présente des personnages tout droit sortis d’univers autofictifs. Ceux-ci peuplent des banlieues fantasmagoriques qui nous semblent à la fois familières et inconnues, voire même surréalistes. Ses œuvres restituent différents contextes imprégnés de : fiction, narration, désirs et souvenirs réanimés par son dessin et sa peinture dans un style typique des affiches publicitaires des années 50-60.

Dans le cadre de cette exposition, Orner propose des œuvres colorées dont le rendu final peut paraître comme une esthétique semblable à des collages d’images recoupées de divers documents publicitaires et de la culture populaire. Faisant preuve d’une grande maîtrise de la peinture et du dessin, ce séduisant trompe-l’œil nous invite assurément à nous rapprocher d’elles pour y découvrir de nombreux détails et une riche composition témoignant d’un esprit ludique et critique.

Orner explore l’imaginaire de sa banlieue d’enfance dans ce qu’elle a d’utopique et de dystopique; lieux de vie remplis des promesses d’un avenir meilleur, ou lieux inquiétants d’homogénéisation et d’isolation sociale. Peu importe du point de vue qu’on les regarde, la charge nostalgique et socio-historique de ces milieux est évoquée avec force et sensibilité, offrant un regard nouveau et excentrique sur nos environnements. L’artiste dresse ainsi un portrait humoristique d’un monde chaotique faisant resurgir notre mémoire, nos désirs.

Steven Orner est né aux États-Unis, en Pennsylvanie, et réside à Montréal depuis 1998. Il est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts du Maryland Institute College of Art et d’une maîtrise en peinture et gravure de la très réputée Yale University School of Art, aux États-Unis. L’artiste compte à son actif plusieurs expositions, tant individuelles que collectives, dans diverses institutions telles que la Galerie d’Art d’Outremont (2020), le Gesù (2012-13), le Musée des beaux-arts du Mont-Saint-Hilaire (2010), et également à l’étranger (États-Unis, Paris, Berlin). Boursier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec en 2008 et du Conseil des arts du Canada en 2009 et 2012, ses œuvres font partie de collections publiques et privées à Montréal et à New York. Il a aussi reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prestigieux Schoelkoptf Travelling Fellowship Prize de l’Université de Yale. Ceci sera sa troisième exposition solo à la Galerie Bernard.

DÉCOUVREZ la capsule vidéo de l’exposition “MÉMOIRE ET DÉSIRS”

CLIQUEZ ICI/CLICK HERE (79 téléchargements) pour télécharger le pamphlet visuel de l’exposition.