Steven ORNER

The art of Steven Orner is a kind of a tale, portraying different aspects of an imaginary American Suburb. For several years, the Artist explores utopia and its opposed concept: dystopia. Figurative, his artworks are structured as interrupted stories/legends, or suspended where forms and fragments are often presented as settings.

Inspired by the American « Suburbs », Orner draws a portrait, sometimes disturbing, of these residential suburbs that, within the collective imaginary, represent the pursuit of futile perfection. Appearances are, from time to time, misleading within this work that reveals to the attentive viewer amazing and unexpected details, mixing the comfortable reality of a residential area with science fiction.

His most recent paintings offer, a series of fragments, derived from modern popular imagery of the American Culture of the Fifties and Sixties; caricatures, landscapes and architectural elements, are removed from their context and integrated in a holdover universe. Textures and tones are mixed, in transparence, watered down colors – or even dazzling ones – reveal an art that holds ancient and contemporary characteristics, simultaneously.

Sometimes, the Artist portrays himself in his visual exposures. In so doing, he allows us to accede to this new overwhelming and intriguing reality.

Poetic and symbolic, the authentic sense of the sites and objects is constantly transformed in the art of Orner, offering the spectator a eccentric universe where make-believe, modern and contemporary critic, poetry and fiction are questioned with, needless to say, a touch of humor and mystery.

Steven Orner was born in the United States and resides since 15 years in Montréal. Bachelor of Arts of The Maryland Institute College of Art and he holds a Master in painting and engraving from the renowned Yale University School of Art, in New Haven, Connecticut, USA. Since several years, the Artist dedicates himself to his pictorial practice. He has been the subject of numerous solo as well as group exhibitions, in diverse surroundings: Musée des beaux-arts du Mont-Saint-Hilaire (2010); also in the United States, Paris, Berlin. Acknowledged Recipient from Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, in 2008, and also from The Canada Council for the Arts, in 2009 and 2012, his artworks are part of public and private collections, in Montréal and New York. He also was honored with other prizes, in particular from the prestigious Schoelkoptf Travelling Fellowship Prize from Yale University.

Karma Police, 2018

Karma Police, 2018

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm

Jump, 2018

Jump, 2018

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm

Show and Tell, 2018

Show and Tell, 2018

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm

Fracked, 2017

Fracked, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

I witness news, 2017

I witness news, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

Run, 2017

Run, 2017

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm (Non encadrée)

Fly high, 2017

Fly high, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

Inspector, 2017

Inspector, 2017

Huile sur papier, 60 x 50 cm (Non encadrée)

Home Defense, 2016

Home Defense, 2016

Huile sur toile, 30 x 30 cm

Landscaping, 2016

Landscaping, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

How to protect, 2017

How to protect, 2017

Huile sur toile, 48 x 61 cm

Prospector, 2016

Prospector, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

Suburban chemist, 2016

Suburban chemist, 2016

Huile sur toile, 76 x 102 cm

While others sleep, 2016

While others sleep, 2016

Huile sur toile, 76 x 61 cm

Marc’s second encounter

Marc’s second encounter

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

Prelude, 2016

Prelude, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 76 cm

Constant Contact, 2016

Constant Contact, 2016

Huile sur toile, 45,7 x 45,7 cm

The egg man, 2016

The egg man, 2016

Huile sur papier, 55 x 38 cm (Non encadrée)

Hunters, 2016

Hunters, 2016

Huile sur papier, 55 x 38 cm (Non encadrée)

Very happy to be here, 2014

Very happy to be here, 2014

Huile sur toile, 120 x 92 cm

Respectable Street, 2011

Respectable Street, 2011

Huile sur toile, 153 x 158 cm

Steven ORNER

L’œuvre de Steven Orner s’apparente à une sorte de conte dévoilant les différentes facettes d’une banlieue imaginaire. L’artiste explore depuis plusieurs années l’utopie et son concept opposé : la dystopie. Figuratives, ses œuvres sont construites comme des récits interrompus ou suspendus où les formes et les fragments sont souvent présentés comme des montages.

Inspirées par les « Suburbs » américaines, Orner dresse un portrait parfois inquiétant de ces quartiers résidentiels qui incarnent, dans l’imaginaire collectif, la poursuite de la perfection futile. Les apparences sont parfois trompeuses dans cette œuvre qui dévoile au spectateur attentif des détails surprenants et inattendus, alliant la réalité confortable d’un quartier résidentiel à la science fiction.

Dans ses tableaux les plus récents, une série de fragments, tirés de l’imagerie populaire moderne de la culture américaine des années ‘50 et ‘60; caricatures, paysages et éléments architecturaux, sont coupés de leur contexte et sont intégrés à un univers décalé, anachronique. Des textures et des tonalités se fondent, en transparence, des couleurs délavées ou même éclatantes nous présentent une œuvre d’aspect à la fois ancien et contemporain.

L’artiste se représente parfois lui-même dans ces narrations visuelles qu’il conceptualise. Ainsi, il nous permet d’accéder à cette nouvelle réalité qui nous surpasse et nous intrigue.

Poétique et allégorique, le sens littéral des lieux et des objets est sans cesse transformé dans l’œuvre d’Orner, offrant au spectateur un univers étrange où faux-semblant, critique de la société moderne et contemporaine, poésie et fiction sont questionnées non sans une pointe d’humour et de mystère.

Steven Orner est né aux États-Unis et réside à Montréal depuis quinze ans. Détenteur, d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts du Maryland Institute College of Art et d’une maîtrise en peinture et gravure de la très réputée Yale University School of Art, aux États-Unis. L’artiste se consacre depuis plusieurs années à sa pratique picturale. Il compte à son actif plusieurs expositions, tant individuelles que collectives dans diverses structures telles que : le Musée des beaux-arts du Mont-Saint-Hilaire (2010), et également à l’étranger (États-Unis, Paris, Berlin). Boursier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec en 2008 et du Conseil des arts du Canada en 2009 et 2012, ses œuvres font partie de collections publiques et privées à Montréal et à New York. Il a aussi reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prestigieux Schoelkoptf Travelling Fellowship Prize de l’Université de Yale.

Fracked, 2017

Fracked, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

Visitors, 2017

Visitors, 2017

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm (Non encadrée)

I witness news, 2017

I witness news, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

Run, 2017

Run, 2017

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm (Non encadrée)

Visitors 2, 2017

Visitors 2, 2017

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm (Non encadrée)

Fly high, 2017

Fly high, 2017

Huile sur papier, 56 x 38 cm

Signal man, 2016

Signal man, 2016

Huile sur papier, 38 x 28 cm (Non encadrée)

Inspector, 2017

Inspector, 2017

Huile sur papier, 60 x 50 cm (Non encadrée)

Lost in the suburbs, 2017

Lost in the suburbs, 2017

Huile sur papier, 76 x 56 cm (Non encadrée)

Home Grown, 2013

Home Grown, 2013

Huile sur toile, 90 x 120 cm

Sighting in the neighbourhood, 2016

Sighting in the neighbourhood, 2016

Huile sur toile, 30 x 30 cm

Home Defense, 2016

Home Defense, 2016

Huile sur toile, 30 x 30 cm

Landscaping, 2016

Landscaping, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

How to protect, 2017

How to protect, 2017

Huile sur toile, 48 x 61 cm

Prospector, 2016

Prospector, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

Suburban chemist, 2016

Suburban chemist, 2016

Huile sur toile, 76 x 102 cm

While others sleep, 2016

While others sleep, 2016

Huile sur toile, 76 x 61 cm

Marc’s second encounter

Marc’s second encounter

Huile sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

Prelude, 2016

Prelude, 2016

Huile sur toile, 61 x 76 cm

Constant Contact, 2016

Constant Contact, 2016

Huile sur toile, 45,7 x 45,7 cm

Come see the world, 2016

Come see the world, 2016

Huile sur toile, 45,7 x 45,7 cm

The egg man, 2016

The egg man, 2016

Huile sur papier, 55 x 38 cm (Non encadrée)

Hunters, 2016

Hunters, 2016

Huile sur papier, 55 x 38 cm (Non encadrée)

Very happy to be here, 2014

Very happy to be here, 2014

Huile sur toile, 120 x 92 cm

Visitors, 2012

Visitors, 2012

Huile, acrylique sur toile, 61 x 51 cm

Respectable Street, 2011

Respectable Street, 2011

Huile sur toile, 153 x 158 cm